Help and Support Resources

General FAQ

This new version of dweet.io incorporates the most popular customer-requested features - including device management, account hierarchies and user management. The new APIs make it easier to build applications that require this type of functionality and resell it as part of an integrated product offering. The new APIs are an addition to the original APIs, which will continue to work as normal.
Yes. The new dweet.io user interface is meant to make it easier to securely perform routine, setup, administration and maintenance tasks without having to code.
Yes! The public APIs are still in place and supported. And now you have the ability to do more with them.
When you buy a Lock, you are given an unlimited amount of data storage for that locked Thing. The storage expires in 30 days, like the Lock, unless it is renewed.

Things FAQ

A “Thing” is any Internet-based entity that can publish/subscribe to the dweet service. In most cases, a Thing is a networked electronic device publishing information (e.g. sensor data) to which an application can subscribe. Things can have two different states on the dweet platform - locked and unlocked. See Locks section for more information.
No. There are no hard limits on the number of Things you can setup.
A Thing must be able to establish an Internet (TCP/IP) connection and communicate with the dweet service via one of the supported protocol (HTTP, Web sockets).
Yes. All Thing names, within an Account, must be unique.

Collections FAQ

Collections are just groups of devices or “Things”. Use a Collection to organize Things by function or location. Collections are also handy for organizing a customer’s Things if you are using dweet as a service component for a product.
The Things are placed in the UNPROVISIONED collection and the Locks are all returned to the Unused Locks pool (i.e. you will see the number of Unused Locks increase by the same number of Things in the Collection you just deleted).
Yes. All Collection names, in an Account, must be unique.

Locks FAQ

A lock is a token that you use when you want a Thing to securely communicate with the dweet service. All communication is private when a Lock is used. In addition, Locks are necessary to access the more advanced features of dweet, such as storage, alerts and device management.
It gets put back in the Unused Locks pool.
No. There is no additional charge.
Yes, however not simultaneously. You configure the association of a lock to a device in your account. There is nothing tying a specific Lock to a specific device.
No, you will be billed monthly, on the 1st of every month, until you cancel your locks.
Make sure you have a valid credit card added to your Account Navigate to ‘Locks’, Select the ‘Buy Lock’ button in upper right, and add the amount of locks you wish to purchase.

Alerts FAQ

Alerts are events you set up that get triggered by changes in data being published by dweet. For example, you could create an Alert that stipulates when “Thing A” publishes data that exceeds a certain minimum value, an email is sent to someone. Alerts can be based on simple “if this then that” conditions or more complex logical statements.
No. They are included in the fee we charged for a Lock.

Pricing and Billing FAQ

No. There are two categories of Lock charges - full and half month. If you buy a Lock in the first half of a given month, you will be charge for the whole month. If you buy a Lock in the second half, you will charged 50% of the monthly charge.
No, however the charge for the lock will not renew at the end of the current billing cycle.
Absolutely. Contact our sales team for more information on the variety of pricing options we have for larger deployments and longer time commitments.
Yes. Contact our sales team for more information.

Users FAQ

There are three User types - Admin, Manager and Viewer. Each type has different privileges. Admin: Create/modify/delete Things Create/modify/delete Collections Create/modify/delete Alerts Create/modify/delete Users Can buy Locks Access to Swagger console Manager: Create/modify Things Create/modify Collections Access to Swagger console Viewer: View Things View Collections Access to Swagger console
If you are logged in as either an Admin or Manager you will see a ‘Users’ menu item in the upper right section of the portal. In the Users section you can click on the ‘Add User’ button to add new users. The user you added will receive an email providing instructions on how to login.

Have more questions?

Get in touch
Choose Colour